PRESS RELEASE 14TH BIENNIAL CONGRESS ELECTION RESULTS AUGUST 29, 2004 People’s National Congress Reform Congress Place, Sophia, Georgetown, Guyana. Sunday, August 29, 2004

The formal deliberations of the 14th Biennial Congress of the People’s National Congress Reform concluded this evening, Sunday 29th August, at Congress Place. In the morning period, the National Congress of Women (the NCW) completed its deliberations of its own convention, which started on Friday 27th August. The second day of the NCW convention saw an attendance of close to 300 delegates. Based on the reports from various workshops, delegates agreed on an action plan for the way forward. Following this, election of new office bearers for the NCW was held. Ms. Cheryl Sampson was returned as National Chairperson. Ms. Doreen Duncan of Region #2 was elected as First Vice-Chairman. Ms. Volda Lawrence, MP, was elected as Second Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Linda Gomes was returned unopposed as Treasurer, and Ms. Constance Mingo of Region #10 was elected as Assistant Treasurer. Member of Parliament, Ms. Genevieve Allen, was returned as Assistant General Secretary of the NCW. The fifteen (15) newly-elected members of the national executive of the NCW are: Yvonne Harewood-Benn; Clarissa Rheil, MP; Supriya Singh; Ann Green; Grace Ann Westford; Amna Ally, MP; Cyrilda DeJesus; Florence Bourne; Gloria Bancroft, MP; Germain Van Sluytman; Joan Baveghems; Pamela Heywood; Patricia Woolford; Valdina Thompson; and Muriel Pratt.

The 12th Biennial Congress of the Youth and Students Movement (YSM) was held today at the Redeemer Primary School. At the election of office bearers, Ms Chiaza James was elected as Chairperson of the GYSM. In addition, twenty-three (23) members of the executive council were also elected in a closely contested election.

At the Party’s main Congress, elections for the party’s top leadership commenced at 4:15 pm. Mr. Robert Corbin, MP, was returned unopposed as Leader of the People’s National Congress Reform, as there was no other nomination for the position. Winston Murray, MP, ran unopposed for Chairman of the Party, as other contestants declined nomination.

Attention then focused on the positions of Vice –Chairman. In an amendment to the Party’s constitution, adopted by the Congress on Saturday 28th, August, the number of Vice-Chairmanship positions was increased from one to two. Delegates elected Attorneys Basil Williams and Deborah Backer as the Party’s two new Vice-Chairpersons from among several candidates.

In his charge to the Congress delegates, the Leader of the PNCR, Mr Robert Corbin, announced the appointment of Mr Vincent Alexander, MP, as Head of the Party’s Election Committee and Unit and Special Advisor to the Leader on election matters. Stanley Ming, mp, was appointed Director of Economic Ventures and Special Advisor on economic matters; Supriya Singh was appointed Director of Public Communications. Raphael Trotman, MP, was named as Director of Legal Affairs. Deryck Bernard, MP, was named Director of Policy Development. George Norton, MP, was named Director of Hinterland Affairs.

Elections of the fifteen member of the Central Executive are now being conducted and results will be announced tomorrow.

People’s National Congress Reform
Congress Place, Sophia,
Georgetown, Guyana.
Sunday, August 29, 2004